Limited.. my heart became limited

this is not a “theological” post, but it is a confession.
“limited atonement”.
It is a the “L” in the Calvinistic acronym “T.u.l.i.p”
Tonight I was reminded of this theological position, and my heart broke.
If asked I would say that I do believe that Christ’s sacrifice was and is for those whom he will redeem, and is for them only.
However my wicked heart can not comprehend this. I sometimes see some one and think “Christ didn’t ‘atone’ for that guy”
What a wicked thought! I am not the Father and I am not the Lord so how dare I pretend I could ever know whom Christ Died for.
I frequently have to remind myself that all who come to HIM, who RECEIVE HIM (John 1:12) are his children.

As I make this post I can see the image of Christ, my KING.. THE KING Weeping over Jerusalem.

Did He really weep? if He knew that they where going to reject him why did he weep?
If he knew that His sacrifice was not for them, why did he weep?
Why? because He Loves.
Ezekiel 33:11 “As I live, declares the Lord God, I have no pleasure in the death of the wicked”

What kind of love makes us weep for those who will perish?
A Limitless, passionate, bold Love; a love so powerful it raised the dead!
that kind of love is only in Christ.
And it makes Him weep!
It makes my King weep!
It makes my Savior weep!
It makes the Great Just Judge of all the World WEEP!

I pray that I will never let a truth or a theological position keep me for loving all men without limit!

I have to confess, I don’t love as He loved. My LOVE is limited.

so today, I repent.

About this entry